Giving is Weird

November 2, 2015

Yep, it is weird indeed. And it requires both faith and diligence on the part of the pastor and his family.

As a former elder in a large denomination and church, I had “intimate” experience with finances. I’m sure like all things, finances vary greatly between churches. I have been troubled though when I discovered that salaries, buildings, and programs left only about 5% for “mission”; the Kingdom allocation. }:- anonemoose monk 💔💜

david j burke

My family and I eat, sleep, and live because people have made a decision to be generous. Now, I know that the “right”  answer is that God provides through people’s gifts to our church.  But I often wonder for people outside the church, or outside knowing God, how weird all of that probably looks. I could picture this conversation, perhaps at the soccer field watching my kids practice.

“So you’re a pastor?”

“Yep.”

“And you get paid because people decide to give out of their income each week, each month, or whenever they feel like it?”

“Yep.”

“Weird.”welcome_to_weirdsville_hat-r8d08626c61c841c0850434e3d79a40f5_v9wfy_8byvr_324

“Yep.”

“What happens if they decide not to do that anymore?”

[silence]

“I don’t know…in other places I served, there were times I had to wait to get a paycheck, because our ministry didn’t have the money. But it eventually always showed up. There are a lot of generous people out there. And most churches…

View original post 386 more words

Leave a Reply

